Intimacy, Pain, Trials

The Wilderness

“Therefore, behold, I will allure her, and bring her into the wilderness, and speak tenderly to her. (‭Hosea‬ ‭2‬:‭14‬ ESV)

Some people see the wilderness as a place of great misery and pain. They see it as a season of confusion and testing. They often cannot wait to get out of it.

But I have found in my own life that the wilderness, although strange and hard, is a place of great intimacy with the Lord. It is a vulnerable place where I am so stripped of everything I depend on, and I am left with nothing but Him. I am so helpless, and I cling on to Him like a weaned child. It is in the place of wilderness that I have discovered the greatest depths of intimacy with Him. It is hard, and I cry many tears, but it is beautiful.

If it takes the wilderness to see You and know You better, I say yes with all my heart. I say yes to every process You want to take me through. Don’t let me be offended. Allure me, and speak tenderly to me.

Standard

One thought on “The Wilderness

Leave a Reply

