Consecration, Destiny, Eternity, Longing, Love, Musings, Prayer

Of Purpose, Intentions, and Decisions

If the entire purpose and the ultimate culmination of my life is to love God then I need to be intentional in doing so. The decisions I make, big and small, internally and externally, must work towards this one purpose. Where I go, what I decide to do, who I surround myself with, what I listen to, the day to day decisions, the major life altering decisions.. All of it needs to be intentional, and all of it must, to some degree or another, push my heart closer to His. 

I have realized my purpose in this life and it is to love Jesus with all my heart, mind, soul and strength. I will not fight it, rather I will work with Him in bringing every area of my life under voluntary yieldedness so I can love Him with all that I am and all that I have. I want this! This both scares me and excites me because I know have barely even scratched the surface when it comes to loving Him in all entirety. 

We talk about things like wholeheartedness, pursuit, surrender and yieldedness. These terms are beautiful and they capture the heart of it so beautifully but have we given any thought to how this plays out in the mundaneness of everyday life? What does an authentic pursuit of the heart of God look like? What does it mean in the day to day? I believe that oneness with God is completely possible and doable even on this side of eternity. It has to be, because He would not have commanded us to pursue it if it were out of reach. 

Loving God wholly with all that we are and all that we have is possible, and I want to pursue it with all intentionality. Let every decision of my heart and my life reflect this desire. I want to stand at the end of my life before the One I love with no regret.

Standard

Leave a Reply

