Consecration, Eternity, Fear of God, Pain, Prayer, Process, Trials, Wilderness

Embrace The Fire

Who can understand his errors? Cleanse me from secret faults. Keep back Your servant also from presumptuous sins; Let them not have dominion over me. Then I shall be blameless, And I shall be innocent of great transgression. Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart Be acceptable in Your sight, O LORD, my strength and my Redeemer. (‭Psalms‬ ‭19‬:‭12-14‬ NKJV)

Left on our own, we are helpless to discern between righteousness and unrighteousness. Ways that seem right in our own eyes may lead us to death. (Prov 16:25) Who can discern his hidden sins? Who can understand his errors and secret faults? My heart trembles in fear because I cannot see what is hidden within me. 

But He knows. And if we want to know, He is pleased to show us and take us through the fires of refinement. Of course there is a price to pay, but the rewards of it far, far outweighs the pain of sanctification. Better to pay the price of testing now than to pay the price of judgement later on. Better to be tested in my heart and to walk through the fire, than to live my life in ways that lead to death. We are never to abuse His grace and take it as an excuse for continuing to live in unrighteousness, hidden or unhidden. Sanctification is a necessary process and we are to walk in it. We are to walk out the righteousness given to us, and in doing so, willingly embrace the fire of testing and refining.  

Give me the testing, and give me the fire, so that what is impure may be burnt away and what is of gold, uncovered. 

Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me, and know my anxieties; And see if there is any wicked way in me, And lead me in the way everlasting. (‭Psalms‬ ‭139‬:‭23-24‬ NKJV) 

Standard

Leave a Reply

