Calvary, Fear of God, Grace, Love, Worship

Beautiful Calvary

“At the cross You beckon me,
Draw me gently to my knees,
And I am lost for words, so lost in love
I am sweetly broken, wholly surrendered.”

I was singing this chorus on the piano tonight… Oh! One need only linger a while at the foot of the cross to be moved to weeping. I never want to get over the cross. I never, ever, ever want to get over the cross.

It is the greatest wonder, the most beautiful mystery. Divine Uncreated Love hung naked and bleeding on a tree. The One who stood in unapproachable light forsook His garments of glory for frail human skin. This Jesus, this beautiful, preexistent, uncreated Son of God became Lamb to drink the cup of wrath that was meant for me.

This breaks me.

Standard

Leave a Reply

