Desire, Intimacy, Longing, Love, Musings, Worship

Restless

“You have formed us for Yourself, and our hearts are restless until they find rest in You.” – St Augustine

My heart aches for You. You are my only good and apart from Your presence, I know only emptiness. I can busy my hands with good works, but if the heat of Your heart does not touch my heart, I am no better off than a cold corpse. So is the drastic proclamation of my soul, yes, because I have known what it is to be alive. I have known what it is to have my heart burning from the inside out. How then am I to be content with anything less? How can I, once having tasted and seen, return to the void of before? I cannot. Try as I may, but I cannot. My heart is forever restless until it finds rest in You and I have become ruined for anything less than the fullness that comes to my soul from fellowshipping with God. In You my joy is complete and outside of You, my heart breaks with weariness.

Standard

Leave a Reply

