Desire, Love, The Church, Worship

Let Us See

It is not hard to love Jesus. He is so beautiful, and one sight of Him would cause even the strongest man to crumble at his knees and collapse on the ground in tears. The natural response of the human heart to God is worship. It is not possible to look upon the glory of God and not want to give up everything to follow Him. When we find it difficult to love Him, it is only because we do not see. It is a revelation problem, not a worship problem. The more we see Jesus, the more we will love Him. The key to wholeheartedness and abandonment is sight. 

Every single time I encounter the Lord, the only word left on my lips is, “Worthy!” When I see Him, I want to give everything. I want to pour myself out until there is nothing left, and even then it is not enough. I want to give of my love until there is nothing left, and still I yearn to give Him more. I cry because what I have to give Him is so small compared to what He is worthy of. And then I collapse in a helpless burning lovesick pile at His feet, with my heart aching and yearning to give Him more, and more, and still more. 

The revelation of the beauty of Jesus will ALWAYS provoke such a response. 
The cry of one who has seen His face is not, “How much can I compromise and still be safe?” It is, “How abandoned will You let me be? How far will You let me go? How much will You let me give You? How deep in love will You let me go?” 

With all that we are, we need to cry out for sight. If we are ever going to be the Church that He desires, we need to cry out for sight.

… that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give to you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him. (‭Ephesians‬ ‭1‬:‭17‬ NKJV)

Standard

Leave a Reply

