Uncategorized

I Choose You

There was once when I looked in front of me and I saw a crossroad. I looked to God for black and white directions but He kept silent and He told me do not fear, just choose. That shocked me. How dare He entrust to me a choice of such magnitude! He knew how weak and indecisive I was. He knew the way I would constantly sway back and forth in nail biting anxiety. Why then did He entrust me with such a generous command?

Because the thing about God is that He has the ability to see right past all of our flaws and into the very depths of our hearts. He sees the part that has silently vowed love and unconditional obedience to Him.

I understand now that there is complete freedom to make all of life’s big decisions as children of God. Because He is faithful and He will never leave us. Because He sends the rain wherever we end up, and whatever we choose, as long as we continue to abide in Him.

But I also understand now that there is a third road. A hidden road – that few find. One that takes great courage, and even greater sacrifice. But it the only road that leads to life, and the only one worth taking.

All this time, He told me to just choose, but little did I know that He was eagerly waiting for me to choose Him. His pursuit of me is so jealous! How it catches me off guard and woos my heart.

I will choose the road less taken and I will pledge myself again to You Lord. Over anything and anyone else. I have counted the cost, and I walk into this with my eyes wide open, choosing You with my whole undivided heart.

I am Yours. Freely, wholeheartedly and bravely Yours.

Standard

One thought on “I Choose You

  1. H says:

    Hello. Thought I’d drop you a note cos this post has been on my mind for the past few days and really touched me. I relate to it a lot. It tied together things God had been showing me through a particular situation and my meditation on (the first half of) John 10. I too, had prayed regarding two choices, and God showed me to just choose Him. What amazed me was that I was even able to just let go and choose Him, despite all the fear, idolatry etc that’s still in my heart. I know that it is only because He choses and pursues us that we are able to choose him, and it blows my mind. 😀

    Thank you so much for writing, Isabel.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

