Musings, Pain, Prayer, Process, Trials, Wilderness

Morning Musings // In the Trial

When my courage ends, let my heart find strength in Your presence
I’ll walk through the fire with my head lifted high, and my spirit revived in Your story 
I’ll look to the cross as my failure is lost in the light of Your glorious grace 

I remember standing in the Allphones Arena in Sydney three years ago singing these words for the first time, tears streaming down my face. “Let the ruins come to life in the beauty of Your name..” Three years ago I stood there, the most broken I’d ever been, amongst a multitude of other ordinary people just like me, all of us praying for His redeeming grace to make all things new. 

Much has changed since then, but I continue to return to these words over and over again because they remain my heart’s cry through the seasons. I don’t ever remember a time when I was not struggling with one thing or the other. Some seasons the battles are bigger and tougher than others, but it seems there is always a need for something to be healed, or restored, or made new. And I think there will always be, for all of us, on this side of time. But that’s okay. 

Because there is a safe place in the midst of it all, and it is in the presence of the Restorer of All Things. He will prove Himself faithful over and over as He prunes the weeds in our lives and breathes beauty back into the broken places. 

“Let the ruins come to life in the beauty of Your name.. I will love You forever, and forever I’ll sing.” 

I’ll sing my love even in the midst of the fire. And I’ll keep singing my love as I watch the broken places of my life become beautiful again – no, never by my own strength but by His. 

Don’t you see? There is One who fights for us still. We can walk through anything despite our weakness. Anything. Because our hope is not in ourselves but in the One who is greater. 

And at the end of ourselves is where He begins. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

