Love, Pain, Poetry, Words

Stranger 

I used to call you a stranger 

I shook my head and laughed 

when you asked me to marry you

“You don’t even know me!”

Grinning, you said, “I know enough.”

//

The days passed 

I fell in love 

Fondly I called you 

my home, my safe place 

The steady rhythm of your heart 

comforted me like nothing I’d ever known. 

Nothing else mattered 

when your strong arms held me close.

//

But just as time comes for everything 

so did it come for us.

And for reasons I will never understand 

now you have become

a stranger again. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

